Open with a quote they said. 

(Sales, S. 2015)

This quote, by the much admired Bernard Leach almost sets the question I wish to resolve on this journey. The artist will always manipulate their medium, that we have always known. But is the final result an inevitable projection of the mind of the artist? How much does/should the artist be lead by the medium? By its very nature clay can be an awkward material. Now I’d like to discover how far can I project my mind and ideas onto a material before I have to listen to the material itself.

Leave a Reply

