Defining the Quest

‘unpretentious beauty, purity, dignity, and humility’.

(Touching Stone 2015)

These words are going to be the goals of my quest. They have become a beacon, something to head for in the dark moments of my research. If I can aim for these four landmarks, then I feel I am heading in the right direction.

In order to support how I quantify my success, I feel it is essential to clarify exactly what the definitions of my four beacons are.

Oxford Dictionaries elaborates:

Unpretentious: ‘Not attempting to impress others with an appearance of greater importance, talent, or culture than is actually possessed.’

Beauty: ‘A combination of qualities, such as shape, colour, or form, that pleases the aesthetic senses, especially thesight’

Dignity: ‘The state or quality of being worthy of honour or respect’

Purity: ‘Freedom from adulteration or contamination’

Humility: ‘The quality of having a modest or low view of one’s importance’

(Oxford Dictionaries, 2015)

Leave a Reply

