Slip Cast Tea Bowl

The first in the series of slip cast tea bowls has been bisque fired. So far I have been able to reproduce an exact form from the model I shaped on the lathe. I have already started to test different thicknesses. This is achieved by increasing the time the slip is left in the cast. Does dignity have a certain thickness? I feel this is a path worth encroaching upon.

 

(Sales, S. 2015)

So how successful are these bowls? How do they measure against the four pillars, unpretentious beauty, dignity, purity and humility?

White, a pure colour, unadulterated. But how will this impact glazing opportunities? It is possible to combine glazes and achieve purity?

Its form is as intended, pure and unadulterated. Is it beautiful though? Quite an ambiguous target, beautyas it is highly subjective. Maybe the form is a little squat; something more slender and able to fit in one hand? Its few parts have a humble quality which I think is very suitable.

So dignity remains the most illusive so far. ‘The state or quality of being worthy of honour or respect’ (Oxford Dictionary 2015). I respect the simplicity and purity of the piece, but I feel I am a long way from achieving honour.

I feel that honour will most likely be achieved after glazing; a period where the completed tea bowl can be assessed as being successful or not. 

Leave a Reply

