Approaching Making

Now I have an idea about the objects I want to make, I have started to research the methods and processes of other ceramic makers.

I still remain absorbed by the current trend for chef’s to use smears and splatters in their cooking.

A potter who uses this approach to decorate his work is Jean-Nicolas Gerard. In the following video he uses slip trailing as well as sgraffito to make marks. At one point he mentions that the accident is important. By this I think he means spontaneity, or an impulsive act. An over-thought movement may look too controlled and lifeless.

When creating the spills and in thinking about making future work I will attempt to take on Gerard’s methodology.

 

 

Leave a Reply

